Don’t Buy a Jeep Renegade Before Watching TFL’s Buyer’s Guide! [Video]

Looking to buy a Jeep Renegade? Here is TFL’s Comprehensive Buyer’s Guide!

Jeep has a tendency to offer a bewildering array of trim levels and options on their new models. Take the outgoing JK Wrangler as an example. For the final 2018 model year, you can pick from nine different trim levels. There’s the Sport, Sport S, Willys Wheeler, the Freedom Edition, Willys Wheeler W, Sahara, Altitude, Rubicon, and Rubicon Recon. Unless you’re a Jeep devout, it can be difficult to sort out which particular model and trim level is right for you.

Things aren’t quite so complicated with Jeep’s smallest offering, the Renegade. There are four trim levels: Sport, Latitude, Limited, and the off-road Trailhawk model. There are also a couple special edition options – the Altitude and the Deserthawk. However, things can get a bit dicey when it comes down to choosing your options. Fortunately, TFL’s Tommy Mica is on hand to explain all the different options you may want to consider when choosing your Renegade. Check out our buyer’s guide above for all the different choices!

Buyer's Guide - Jeep Renegade
[Photo: Jeep]

Drivetrain Options

The Jeep Renegade is available in front-wheel drive or four-wheel drive on most models, with the exception of the Trailhawk, which is four-wheel drive only. Depending on which trim level you buy, you can also have a 1.4-liter, turbocharged Multiair engine or a 2.4-liter, naturally aspirated Tigershark unit.

If you elect for trim levels where the 1.4-liter turbo comes standard (Sport, Latitude, and Altitude), you’ll get 160 horsepower and 184 lb-ft of torque. This engine is mated exclusively to Jeep’s C635 6-speed manual transmission. The larger, 2.4-liter engine is optional in all models of the Renegade (except the Trailhawk, where it’s your only option), for between $1,350 and $1,350 more. If you want four-wheel drive on any of these models, it will cost you at least $2,000 more.

The Limited and Trailhawk models come standard with the 2.4-liter unit that’s optional in the lower trim levels. The Tigershark engine delivers 180 horsepower and 175 lb-ft of torque, with a class-exclusive 948TE nine-speed automatic.

Jeep Renegade Buyer's Guide
From the base level Sport to the top-of-the-line Trailhawk, here are all your different options for buying a Jeep Renegade.

Trim Levels

As mentioned before, there are four main trim levels on the Renegade, with two special edition models. Here’s a brief explanation of each level:

  • Sport: The Sport is the entry level version. For $17,995 and up, you get painted steel wheels, a 1.4-liter turbo engine, a six-speed manual and a basic interior. Option packages here include the Power and Air Group (includes air conditioning, heated power mirrors and cruise control), and the 5-inch Uconnect system.
  • Latitude: The Latitude comes in at $23,495 for the four-wheel drive model, and acts as the middle option in the range. You get an upgrade to aluminum alloy wheels over the sport, although it still comes standard with the 1.4-liter engine and six-speed manual. Options packages on this model include safety packages (automatic high beams, parking sensors, blind spot monitoring, etc.), the Cold Weather Group (heated seats and steering wheel), and a 6.5-inch Uconnect system.
  • Limited: The Limited is the Renegade’s upscale model. It comes standard with a 2.4-liter, naturally aspirated engine and a 9-speed automatic. Options here are similar to the Latitude, and you can also spec a Beats Audio premium stereo system. Prices start at $27,195 for the four-wheel drive model.
  • Trailhawk: Jeep designates the Trailhawk as its most off-road worthy and only “Trail Rated” Renegade model. It also comes standard with the 2.4-liter engine and 9-speed automatic. Options on the Trailhawk are similar to the limited, with heated seats and steering wheel, the 6.5-inch Uconnect system, and safety features.

Watch the Renegade buyer’s guide video above for all the details on these trim levels and all the options you can get for your Renegade. Happy car shopping! As always, check back to for more news, views, and comprehensive buyer’s guides. Subscribe to The Fast Lane Car and TFLnow on YouTube for the latest videos on your favorite new models!