Video: 2010 Dakar Rally stage five results: American Mark Miller takes stage win

For a second day in a row an American driver has won a stage on the 2010 Dakar Rally.

Today it was Mark Miller and Volkswagen that took the stage 5 Dakar win.

"Dakar really began in earnest today," said Miller.

we are in the best placings. Today we stopped the children's games.
There are still long days ahead of us in the sand dunes. There will be
gaps opening up between the drivers and hopefully they will be in our

Carlos Sainz took the overall Rally lead after Frenchman Stephane Peterhansel lost 50 minutes due to problems on the stage that immobilized his car.

According to the Dakar Rally's web site:

"US driver Mark Miller (VW) gets his first stage victory on the Dakar
finishing 2’10 ahead of his team mate Spain’s Carlos Sainz (VW) and
4’27 ahead of Qatari driver Nasser Al-Attiyah (VW), in a fifth stage
marked by the misfortunes of Stéphane Peterhansel (BMW), who was still
leader when he left Copiapo this morning. Indeed, after breaking his
rear axle at km 135, the Frenchman lost almost 2h15 and – most probably
– any chance of winning the raid this year for the 10th time.

In the
overall standings "Peter" is now 2h04’49 behind the new leader, Spanish
driver Carlos Sainz. "El Matador" is also respectively 4’37 and 9’39
ahead of his team mates Nasser Al-Attiyah (VW) and Mark Miller (VW). In
the Open category, no surprise, as it is again US driver Robby Gordon
who wins the stage

On the bikes early rally leader David Casteu was forced to retire after he broke his leg.

"It is an error on my part. I got too close to Chaleco," said Casteu.

flew through the air but I didn't lost consciousness. I crawled to my
motorbike to get to my radio. I was afraid that the artery in my leg
had been severed."

Chilean motorcyclist Francesco Lopez won the difficult 483 kilometer stage and Cyril Despres of France continues to lead the Rally on the bikes.

According to the Dakar Rally's web site:

"Chilean rider Francisco Lopez Contardo (Aprilia) has won his second
stage on home turf on the Dakar, his first stage victory of the year.
With a time of 5h52’40, the man whose nickname is "Chaleco" arrived
1’30 ahead of Frenchman Cyril Despres (KTM) and 13’13 ahead of his
countryman David Frétigné (Yamaha)… More importantly, this fifth stage
was marked by the misfortunes of Frenchman David Casteu who had to
withdraw after a bad fall and of Spaniard Marc Coma (KTM).

Victim of a
blown rear tire at km 376, the title holder lost almost 40’ today… In
the overall standings, the coast is now clear for final victory for
Despres who now has a 37’37 lead on Chile’s Lopez Contardo and a 44’01
lead over Portugal’s Helder Rodrigues (Yamaha)… As for Marc Coma, he is
now 7th 1h16’55 behind the leader.

Click HERE for today's currant stage 5 Dakar Rally race standings.

Follow on twitter @TFLcar or watch latest car review videos on YouTube.